12 Earthly Branches

2011-07-19 13:42 ChineseTime

More than 30,000 years ago, Chinese ancestors invented the 10 Tian Gan (or heavenly stems) and 12 Di Zhi (or 12 earthly branches) for chronological purposes. Twelve animals are used to symbolize the 12 earthly branches, in order they are: the rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, sheep, monkey, rooster, dog and pig. There are a lot of legends about the origin of the Chinese Zodiac.




Our new members


Scan now
Responsive image

Related Articles